Calleen Art Award 2023 Finalists Announced

Published on 31 August 2023

Calleen 2023 Finalists Collage

The Cowra Regional Art Gallery is pleased to announce the finalists of the Calleen Art Award 2023 acquisitive national painting prize worth $25,000. The Calleen Art Award encourages originality, creativity and excellence in the visual arts.

The Calleen Art Award was founded in 1977 by Cowra Art Patron Mrs Patricia Fagan OAM and is made possible with the generous support of the Calleen Trust. The Calleen Art Award finalists’ exhibition at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery is a signature art event in the central west region of NSW.

This year the Gallery received 278 entries and 57 works have been selected as finalists by the selection panel of art professionals. The selected artworks consist of a diverse range of visually compelling, thoughtful and challenging paintings. The winning work will join the Calleen Collection housed at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery and visitors to the Calleen Art Award exhibition can vote in the People’s Choice Award. This is announced at the end of the exhibition.

The opening night and announcement of the winner of the Calleen Art Award 2023 is on Saturday 7 October 2023 from 6pm and promises to be a memorable and enjoyable event. The Calleen Art Award 2023 judge is Kon Gouriotis OAM, Curator, Writer and Editor of Artist Profile magazine.

Exhibition dates: 8 October to 19 November 2023 at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery, 77 Darling Street, Cowra. Open: Tues – Sat, 10am – 4pm and Sun 10am – 2pm. Admission free.


Susan Baird   Rachel Ellis
Steve Lopes
Michael Bell Jo Fernandez
Graham Lupp
Charlie Bennell Ashley Frost
Maria Mararr
Lee Bethel
Joanna Gambotto
Nicola Mason
Joe Blundell
Nick Glade-Wright
Ahn Nguyen
Vicki Bosworth
Kim Grivas
Robyn Nolan
Rhett Brewer
Melissa Guest
Penelope Oates
Kate Briscoe
Marie Hagerty
Jason Liman Olsen 
Anthony Cahill
Lizzie Hall
Stephen Pleban
Spencer Calveley
Geoff Harvey
Georgina Pollard
Jane Canfield
Leigh Hewitt
Sarah Randall
Michelle Cawthorn
Dellina Inkamala
Edgar Schilter
David Collins
Dominika Keller
Peter Sharp
Luke Cornish
James Lai
Gary Smith
Jessie Cunningham-Reid    
Hannah Lange
D.R. Snook
Dagmar Cyrulla
Natalie Lavelle
Fiona Somerville
Wendy Dawson
Naomi Lawler
Brenda Stace Chat
Chantel de Latour
Danny Lee
Phil Went
Angie de Latour
Rosie Lloyd-Giblet                
Minghua Xiang


Ends For more information contact Brian Langer, Gallery Director, Cowra Regional Art Gallery on 0429072282 or email